Chloe’s Masterpiece

After a slow morning, Chloe, Cole, and I ventured to Lowe’s.  I had some things to get for the house, and I finally got around to getting my spring flowers.  It’s much later in the year than I have ever planted flowers, but I have two kids that take up most of time.  Regardless, we went flower shopping today, and I let Chloe pick out the flowers she wanted to plant.  It was very hot, and we were all sweaty because it took us both a while to make up our minds.  Thankfully, Cole slept almost the entire time.  We got all our flowers, paid, and loaded up the car only to realize I forgot the main ingredient…..potting soil.  I’ll blame that on “mom brain” I guess.  So, we all got back in the shopping cart and headed back in to buy soil.  When we got back in the car, I felt like I had gotten a workout.  I sighed when I sat down to put my seatbelt on, and Chloe again said, “Mommy, it is so hot today.”  Yes, it was!

We had lunch when we got home, and I promised Chloe we would plant her flowers after nap, so when she awoke, she was saying, “Pet flow-uz?” (plant flowers).  So we put on our old clothes and got to work.  Her favorite part was using the “shovel.”

DSC_0290

DSC_0292

DSC_0293

DSC_0295

DSC_0297

And here it is…….Chloe’s masterpiece.  She has good taste, huh?

DSC_0298

After all the flowers were planted, we talked about how flowers needed water to grow.  We watered them thoroughly, and Chloe enjoyed playing in the water.  When I would turn my back, Chloe would break the flowers off to sniff, and many flowers were missing after these pics were taken.  She just didn’t get that the flowers need to stay on the stems, but looking through her eyes….. what good are flowers if you can’t hold them and smell them?

1 thought on “Chloe’s Masterpiece

  1. Love your blog. I miss you and the babies! Chloe is growing into quite the little lady! LOVE the flower story!

    Let’s get together for dinner/ playdate soon.

    Amy

Leave a comment